Food & Coffee in Hanoi (Part 3) #13

Day xxx in Hanoi!

We went out for Bahn Mi after doing some research on TripAdvisor for ‘Best Bahn Mi in town’. HAHAHA! Honestly, TripAdvisor is the real deal. I use it for almost all my travels – from browsing for things to do, sights to see, checking for tours to THE MOST IMPORTANT ONE THING THAT RULES THEM ALL..FOOD. Where to eat?! What to eat?! Why to eat?! and How much to eat?!

After extending my stay in Korea, I’ve come to realised how important it is to eat. LOL. Henceforth, I’ll only spend travel money on food from now on. Yes, I swear it upon my cheese. And you should know how much I love cheese!

Say no to souvenirs! Say no to shopping! (Unless, it’s meant to be a shopping trip) But not when you’re travelling to experience the country. 

And here goes the Bahn Mi! 🙂

What is a Bahn Mi?

Courtesy of Google: (in Vietnamese cuisine) a sandwich consisting of a baguette (traditionally baked with both rice and wheat flour) filled with a variety of ingredients, typically including meat, pickled vegetables, and chili peppers.

Courtesy of Bin: You take a baguette, slice it open in the middle. After, take some vegetables and meat  to stuff it in. And voila, 1 + 1 = 2. Put this + that and you’ll get Bahn Mi! Basically, Vietnamese baguette. Simple, clean, nice, short description. Saya suka.

CYMERA_20150516_160821
If I’m not wrong, it was only RM7.50 per person for one Bahn Mi. And if that’s not cheap, I don’t know what is. Okay fine, maybe you can find cheaper ones lah. But we were in a restaurant with AC and comfy chairs, so I guess we’re paying for comfort and cleanliness as well. STILL, CHEAP. 
CYMERA_20150516_171542
And here’s the Bahn Mi up close! 
CYMERA_20150516_171637
Sorry, the Bahn Mi was too photogenic. I couldn’t resist. 
CYMERA_20150516_171850
And that’s me happily eating my Bahn Mi ft. my Vietnamese Iced Coffee. Vietnamese coffee is strong, lol. 

I think we walked around aimlessly for quite awhile after having our Bahn Mi and found this small shop in one of the small alley ways. I think it’s a market where locals go to because there were no tourists around and it just didn’t feel touristy at all. You just here a lot of ‘*#&%$*(@%^$&*(&*%$&’ alien language and then you hear ‘HAHAHA! WAHAHA! OH OH OH! AH AH AH!’ – Locals conversing with each other while I’m just standing there trying to comprehend what is going on.

Anyways, the food!

GOSH. Have I ever told you how important it is to NOT EAT at tourist recommended places? Always go where the locals go! And so, we found ourselves this tiny little shop ran by an old lady. SHE WAS THE BOMB. AND HER FOOD WAS THE REAL BOMB MAN.

CYMERA_20150516_120707
TADAAA! I honestly forgotten how much this meal cost but it was less than RM10 or RM10? This is why it’s not only experience-friendly, tastebud-friendly but also bank account-friendly to eat at small little shops! Because they are CHEAP and DELICIOUS. And look at the portion. :O 
CYMERA_20150516_120914
I’m going to try to explain this my way. Let’s try! Ingredients: Prawns, onions and cabbage fried in flour batter, the Vietnamese rice wrap paper (not paper, paper but rice paper), lettuce and some green leafy vegetables. How to eat: Take the rice paper, wrap everything together and stuff it into your mouth. 
CYMERA_20150516_121521
Another version: Rice paper, lettuce?, pineapple and fried fishcake or chicken or pork? I forgot but I know it’s meat. LOL. TRUST ME! IT WAS SO GOOD, I WILL NEVER FORGET IT. For the rest of my life. Seriously. And I don’t think I’ll ever be able to find this exact shop again 😦 
CYMERA_20150516_120535
The owner frying us the prawn thingy. And yeps, that’s how the street we went into looked like! It’s a narrow, almost hidden street but if you happen to come across it…WALK IN! WALK IN AND YOU’LL FIND MAGIC. 
CYMERA_20150516_120544
I think Dior was just analysing the food and how to best eat it. 
CYMERA_20150516_120550
Jasper is just like, ‘don’t take a picture of me! I’m shy’ but proceeds to smile for the camera. 
CYMERA_20150516_121618
And tada. You have the three of us enjoying our very Vietnamese meal. ❤ 

After having lunch/brunch, we went on to continue our getting lost with a map adventure!

This is along one of the night street market place in Hanoi and is popular among tourists! So you’ll probably come across this night street when you’re in Hanoi.

I didn’t take much pictures here because there were just too many people and not much of the actual local scene. Sigh, so I just skipped it.

BUT! Guess what I found?! A local music band! And they were really goood. They mostly played songs from movie soundtracks and some famous pop songs.

CYMERA_20150516_215951
The band and all 3 of us posing like typical tourists on the street 🙂 

The day is not over yet! Not until we get our last dose of Vietnamese Coffee before heading back to the hotel ❤

COFFEE! GIVE ME COFFEE! I don’t want hotel! I want coffee! (that’s a lie because I know I’ll always choose sleep over having a cup of coffee)

CYMERA_20150516_210704
If I’m not wrong this should be Vietnamese Iced Coffee :O And it’s mine, just look at that dose of concentrated caffeine. (wayang je lah, it’s not that concentrated)
CYMERA_20150516_210748
Espresso shots, milk and ice cream? Honestly, I don’t remember anymore. But it was yums! 
CYMERA_20150516_210717
EGG COFFEE! You must try it when you’re in Vietnam. It’s a big thing there and a lot of people loved it. Warning: For those who can’t stand the strong smell of egg, then I’d advise you to stay away from it because it can taste and smell very eggy. 

That’s it for Hanoi (Part 3)

Stay tune for more ❤

 

Leave a Reply

