Penang 2015 (Part 1) #9

Penang, now my second favourite city after finding Malacca. Only because there are more historical sites and centuries old architecture in Malacca (I’ll talk about that in my next post!).

Before I begin, Penang is the land of food. The land of bicycles. The land of heritage. The land of  bad decisions (lol). Pour moi lah.

Penang is definitely every Malaysian’s favourite weekend city to getaway because it’s not too far and easily accessible by the highway. But let’s be real, that’s not the MAIN REASON why we go to Penang. The sole reason why Malaysians go to Penang is for the food okay. Hands down, the food. Nowhere beats Penang food, within the country and internationally. I mean, just google it and you’ll find what I say to be true.

But I’ll do you a favour and attach the link here 🙂

GOSH. I can already feel the flow of Penang passion in me. HAHAHA!

https://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/07/158992/penang-endorsed-worlds-best-food-destination-renowned-food-writer

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

How to get to Penang?

Option 1: 

Drive. If you have a car, why not. Or if you don’t, then steal one la. YOU CAN RUN OFF TO PENANG AND THEY WONT CATCH UP. huehuehue

Option 2: 

Take the bus or train. Cheap but there’s a risk that the train or bus might break down, catch on fire and you may also possibly be held hostage by bandits. BANDITS FROM THE ROAD! AHAH!

Bandit 1: Let’s do some kidnapping!

Bandit 2: WHY NOT?! Who shall we target?

Bandit 1: I KNOW! Those mofos on the bus or train, because they have nowhere to run once we’ve surround all the exit. They’ll be trapped!

Bandit 2: Damn bruh, you smart. you cool. #respect

*just kidding lah. it’s pretty safe to take the public transport so don’t worry okay. Just go purchase your tickets from BTS Bus Terminal*

Option 3: 

Take a domestic flight from KL.

This was the option we chose because it’s relatively cheap and wayyy faster.

Why did we go to Penang?

Actually, it’s been 3 years since this trip happened so I don’t really recall why did we choose Penang. But I think it went something like this:

Geraldine: Eh, Jo (Joanne) is in Penang! She’s having her internship there. Should we go visit her?

Iyin: Ya, can!

Me: HAH?! REALLY? ONZ WEI. I haven’t been to Penang before you know!

*calls Joanne*

3 of us: JO! WE ARE COMING TO PENANG!

*Joanne picks up*

Joanne: OH MY GOD! COME GUYS! COME! You can stay at my hotel tooooo. The bed is big enough to fit all of us!!

3 of us: SERIOUSLY? OKAY! LET’S DO IT THEN! FREE ACCOMMODATION. WHY NOT?!

*ends call*

and that is how this whole Penang trip happened.

Also, I faintly remember having a little debate on whether we should take a train or flight. And, I remembere Izzaidi planning out which is the cheaper option. And by planning, I mean giving me endless nags.

It went something like this

Izzaidi: Bin, how are you going to Penang?

Me: By train.

Izzaidi: Why the fuck are you taking the train?

Me: Because it’s cheap and fun.

Izzaidi: You can’t be fucking serious about taking a train to fucking Penang.

Me: Izzaidi, calm your tits. You don’t have to go crazy over which type of transportation I choose.

Izzaidi: Oh. My. God. I can’t breathe right now. Can someone please slap some sense into this girl!

Me: What is wrong with taking a train?

Izzaidi: YOU CAN TAKE A FUCKING FLIGHT. AND IT WILL SAVE YOU SO MUCH MORE TIME. CHEAPER TOO.

Me: Yeah, but I don’t want to.

Izzaidi: Can you just look at the amount of time you’ll save and all that hassle. Take the fucking flight. It’s easier!

Me: I don’t want to. I want to take the train.

Izzaidi: You dumb fuck.

*Izzaidi then proceeds to print out all the relevant information, price for plane tickets and train tickets, and he also very kindly printed out routes for me*

And after a few seconds of deep consideration…

Me: Actually, you are right. Flight is the better option. We should get a flight.

Izzaidi: FINALLY. OH MY GOD. FINALLY YOU CAN THINK! I’m so proud of you!

and yeps. That’s how we made it to PENANG! ❤

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

and now series of beautifully edited pictures, some original 

 I had to highlight that. Just throwing in some compliments, you know.

What did we do in Penang?

THE FIRST PICTURE WE TOOK WHEN WE GOT THERE is very typically what every tourist who arrives in Penang would take.

P1160003
Yes. The bicycle siblings. You have not visited Penang until you’ve taken a picture with this wall art.

and btw, Geral, you look bomb. xoxo

and right after this picture, we rented bicycles! But guess what? Out of the four of us, only 2 knew how to ride a bike…so we got ourselves the 2-person ride?

AND. ONE OF THE BEST RIDES OF MY LIFE! Because we almost got ourselves killed and I was screaming so much…for people to move out of the way. Not because I didn’t know how to ride but riding a two-person one is real tough. You need to know the law of physics and balancing.

So yes. I shouted ‘MOVE! GET OUT OF MY WAY! INCOMING! OUT OUT OUT!’

and guess what?

A group of tourists found us really funny, started laughing and they recorded me shouting with their fancy little GoPro which I do not have (even now, I still don’t have it yet).

Ahh, see. I create memories for other people too. *eyerolls. so much self praise.*

– so, that was the bicycle scene –

P1160001
And…I got to try my Penang Ice Ball. YAYYY ❤
P1160011
There’s more than just one pussy in this picture if you look closely enough. Loool.
P1160024
I am obviously not the main focus. In fact, if you inspect closely, I actually blend in with the background.

I FINALLY KNOW WHAT AM I MADE FOR! Backdrops. Yes, I’m made to be backdrops and wallpaper for others. :’)

That’s a small part of our Armenian Street visit. If you are in Penang, you must most definitely not miss this street. Not only for the street art but also the street food and old buildings. You may be able to find the year in which the building was built, but no guarantees.

There’s just too many Armenian streets pictures that I couldn’t post because I don’t want to run out of picture space on wordpress’ free plan. LOL.

But, I’ll be uploading them on Facebook or Instagram some time soon. (lowkey hinting for followers).

P1160047
That handwriting tho. So neat and clean. And I see a great future ahead for this young baby! 
One step at a time kid, one step at a time. You can take baby steps, so long as you don’t stop moving.
P1160065
Searching for her life’s purpose
P1160069
FOUND IT! 
Never stop smiling I-Yin ❤
P1160085
2 boats and 2 girls. (backview)
P1160086
2 boats and 2 girls. (frontview)
P1160079
Even if the sky falls, I will not falter. I will persevere until my very last breath. 
Joking lah wtf. If the sky does fall, I’m going to be the first to duck down and go into heart failure.  #feelingbluecool #bluesclues
P1160090
Yes. That’s my bra showing. fml. 
Slutting since 1996. and what the fuck kinda face is that?

And that’s the end of our little wanders in Chew Jetty.

Did none of that cultural exploration or understanding local. We were only there for pictures.. (Isokei. I promise, the next time I go back, I’ll strike conversations with ah mas and ah gongs and come back with more stories).

 

Leave a Reply

